Saturday, 19 January 2019
Latest news
Main » Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM

Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM

05 March 2017

Phase 1-5 of UP Assembly elections has successfully concluded and the campaigning for the sixth and penultimate phase polling has ended on Thursday evening. Moreover, the Hindu voters cast their votes for the BJP and PM Modi during Assam polls.

Over 8,400 personnel from the CRPF were deployed for security in 1,643 polling stations in 38 constituencies. However, in an isolated incident of violence, Erendro Leichombam, the only candidate from Irom Sharmila's People's Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA) in the first phase was attacked by unknown miscreants. This phase polling will be held in the regions adjoining Indo-Nepal border and bordering districts with north Bihar. Manipur is to see the second and last phase of elections for the remaining 22 Assembly constituencies in the State on March 8 when the seventh and final phase of elections for the remaining Assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will also take place.

The Election Commission said the polling percentage could go up as figures of voter turnout were available for 72 per cent of the polling stations at 4 pm. Manipur is reeling under severe ethnic tension after the UNC imposed economic blockade on November 1 a year ago, protesting the state government's decision to create seven districts, 'dividing the Naga areas'.

Meanwhile, a whopping 84 percent voters turned out for Phase 1 of the Manipur Assembly elections, sealing the fate of 168 candidates across 38 Assembly constituencies. Saikul constituency in the state had the maximum number of contestants in a single constituency at 11. The state elections will be a big electoral test for the three-time Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh. Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi had accused the BJP of "compromising with the territorial integrity" of Manipur. The UNC blocked the movement of goods through two National Highways to the plains of the State where the Meiteis, who are also BJP's key voter base, reside.

Manipur National Democratic Front is contesting in 10 assembly constituencies while North East India Democratic Party is fighting from eight seats.

Active Volume Stock: Office Depot, Inc. (NASDAQ:ODP)
The stock now shows its YTD (Year to Date) performance of -7.74 percent while its Weekly performance value is -10.9%. Finally, LS Investment Advisors LLC boosted its position in shares of Office Depot by 15.8% in the third quarter.

The districts going to polls today are Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

Manipur elects at least three Muslim candidates to its Assembly every year, but the BJP has fielded only one candidate from the party, whereas the Congress has fielded three of them.

As sixth phase polling in Uttar Pradesh is underway, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh appeared confident of a BJP majority in the state.

Yogi Adityanath, BJP MP, GorakhpurBJP will win with a heavy majority in the sixth phase of elections in UP and get a two-third majority in the state.

Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM